航运业的成功密码:信任、敏捷与理念

June 19, 2019

挪威国际海事展的明确态度对被过多会议充斥的航运业而言颇具积极新意。这并不是毫无原因的,航运业素来是个保密多过分享的行业,因此他们愿意将挪威在海事领域的宏大愿景公之于众就显得尤为独特。

这应该要归功于挪威国际海事展;当前的惯例是先邀请未来学家分享外界的真实动态,再邀请船东将他们拉回现实。船东如今虽然可能还落后几步,但已开始参与其中。目前的问题在于他们该如何利用数字化,如何管理威胁以及如何让航运业朝着可持续发展的方向转移。

奇点大学客座教授拉梅兹·纳姆 (Ramez Naam) 介绍了“技术大众化”及其对多个行业的影响,奠定了本次讨论的基调。他指出,人们一度认为企业转型会寸步难行,但如今进展良好,不过在航运业,除物流和集装箱运输外,较难找到其他领域的例子。

Torvald Klaveness 首席执行官拉斯·克里斯托弗森 (Lasse Kristoffersen) 采用了与此完全相反的模式,但他领导干散货运营商渡过了转型的第一阶段。航运业在起步初期的表现令他备受鼓舞,但他坦诚地表示,四年前他意识到如果企业要迎来变革,就必须改变自身。

“我们的策略是通过两种因素创造价值;一是涵盖短期效率和长期气候中立的能源转型,二是如何使用技术解决问题。我其实并不喜欢颠覆这个说法,听上去仿佛会让我们覆灭,其实它本质上是转型。对于颠覆我们无能为力,但转型是我们可以加以掌控的,”他说道。

TechnipFMC Worldwide 首席数字官安-克里斯丁·安德森 (Ann-Christin Andersen) 强调了企业需要保留的领域,并重点指出企业需要运用颠覆者无法轻易获取的专业领域知识。

“在 B2C 环境中,企业只需具备少量专业领域知识,但需要拥有强大的数字竞争力,”她表示。“但航运业受制于周期性需求的影响,属于高风险型行业。我们需要更快速地采纳数字技术,只有这样,航运业才能保持竞争力、提高生产力并解决环境问题。”

纳姆教授指出了数字领域的危险预兆,并强调主要机遇仍是利用技术发掘新机遇:“人的流动和商品的使用是不会改变的,但随着货物转移的混合,人们必须在传统航运市场之外寻求发展机遇。”

海上能源、海洋采矿或食品等邻近市场能为船东提供机遇,让他们即使在传统货物基础衰退的情况依然保持增长。资产密集型行业并未彻底衰落,但在此基础上的新兴数字行业为我们指明了增长速度最快的领域,因此需要创造值得探索的新业务,从而打造长期增长型资本结构。

Klaveness 战略坦然接受了多元化,但同时也重点关注公司能利用 5 或 10 年内的可用技术为现有客户解决哪些问题。

“我们以为我们面临着技术问题,但我们的问题其实在于敏捷度;也就是说如何找到值得解决的问题。我们必须将一年期项目和预算缩短为两周式短项目,”克里斯托弗森表示。

这也意味着我们需要打造新业务,未来的某一天,新业务甚至可能会对现有业务构成挑战。“首席执行官面对的最大困境在于,建立新业务远比现有业务转型轻松得多,但我们必须同时两手抓。”

对于规模像 Technip 这样庞大的企业,问题不在于制定数字化战略,而在于打造合适的商业模式。正如安德森指出的,“数字化仅仅是实现目的的手段,除非配备合适的商业计划,否则企业可能会虚耗大量资金,但却毫无进展。如果企业让平台介入自身与客户之间,最终肯定会一败涂地。”

航运业和其他行业的问题在于数字化颠覆因素包含商业模式以及促成该模式的技术和少许其他内容。它们以强大的网络以及发现未使用资产的价值的能力为支撑,并通过变革茁壮发展。

“大型企业最常犯的错误是低估企业内部免疫系统的强度,”纳姆教授表示。“它们大多以流程为驱动力,而且始终都有特定的运转方式。如果试图引入新元素,可能会减缓其前进速度,让系统遭受攻击或出现排斥现象。企业必须在远离核心业务的边缘领域鼓励创新。”

安德森同意这种观点,她指出最重要的一项因素是能够开阔高管的眼界,如果数据互联互通,就可以同时对客户、船东或供应商完全透明。“企业必须在这方面对高管展开培训,这样他们就会在企业出现失误时立即察觉。企业的商业模式是由供应商组成的生态系统,企业必须相信它正在逐步改进之中,这种信任是一项重大的文化变革。”

Klaveness 建立了内部机构以保留人才并鼓励这种创新思维,克里斯托弗森预估“三分之一的员工尚未了解我们前进的方向,三分之一的员工正在试图跟上企业前进的步伐,三分之一的员工则在飞速向前奔跑。”问题在于在我们刚起步时,他们就已经在奔跑着前进了。更大的问题在于让后三分之一的员工跟上速度,并明确如果不这么做会有怎样的后果。”

对所有像他一样正在攀登数字化“珠峰”的人而言,纳姆教授给出了一个常被重复却不常被留意到的简单方案。“企业需要招到合适的人才并赋予他们自主权。Spotify 采用‘信任高于掌控’的管理模式;企业需要找到优秀人才,给他们奔跑向前的空间,让他们实现新概念并推动业务增长。”

Success in shipping = trust + agility + ideas

June 19, 2019

In a market populated by too many conferences, there is something refreshingly positive about the attitudes in evidence at Nor-Shipping. There are good reasons for this of course but it is the country’s willingness to discuss its ambitions that is unusual in an industry predicated on secrecy rather than sharing.

Nor-Shipping can probably take the credit; for now, standard practice of inviting a futurist to give a perspective on what is happening outside the bubble then invite owners to bring them back to reality. But these days, the owners, while perhaps a few steps behind, are onboard. The question now is what they can do to take advantage of digitalisation, manage the threats and move the industry towards sustainability.

In setting the scene for the conversation Ramez Naam, Adjunct Professor at the Singularity University described the ‘democratisation of technology’ and its impact on numerous industries. The transformation of businesses once thought impregnable is well advanced, though identifying examples in shipping is a harder save for those in logistics and container transport, he observed.

CEO of Torvald Klaveness Lasse Kristoffersen is the opposite of that model but has led the dry bulk operator through the first stage of transformation. He is encouraged by the start that the industry has made but admitted that four years ago he recognised that if the company was to change, it had to change itself.

“Our strategy has two factors that create value; the energy transition which includes short term efficiency and long term climate neutrality and how we use technology to solve problems. I don’t really like disruption, it sounds like something that comes and kills you, it’s really a transition. Disruption you can’t do anything about, a transition you can manage,” he said.

Ann-Christin Andersen, Chief Digital Officer of TechnipFMC Worldwide stressed that sector companies needed to retain and apply domain knowledge that disruptors could not easily acquire.

“In a B2C environment you need very little domain knowledge but a lot of digital competence,” she said. “But the shipping industry is subject to cyclical demand and it’s also a risk-based business. We have to absorb digital technologies at a much higher speed, it’s the only way to remain competitive, achieve productivity gains and address environmental issues.”

As the canary in the digital coal mine, Naam was keen to point out that the main opportunity remains to use technology to identify new opportunities: “People will still move and use goods, that will not change, but as the mix of cargoes shifts, you have to look for growth opportunities outside traditional shipping markets.”

It is these adjacent markets – such as offshore energy, ocean mining or food – that could provide an opportunity for owners to grow even as their traditional cargo base declines. Asset-heavy industries are not dead, but new digital industries built on top show the fastest areas of growth, so creating a new business to explore that could create a longer term growth capital structure.

The Klaveness strategy embraces diversification but also focusses on what problems the company can solve for existing customers using technology unavailable five or 10 years ago.

“We thought we had a technology issue, but really the issue was agility; how do you identify problems worth solving. We had to move from one-year projects and budgets down to two-week sprints,” Kristoffersen reflected.

It also meant founding a new business that he admitted, might one day be a challenger to the existing one. “The biggest dilemma you have as CEO is that it’s much easier to build a new business than transform an existing one. We had to do both at the same time.”

For an organisation the size of Technip, the issue is not creating a digital strategy, it’s having the right business model. As Andersen pointed out “digital is just a means to the end, unless you have the right business plan you can spend a lot of money getting nowhere. But if you let a platform get in between you and your customers you will lose out.”

The issue for shipping – and other industries – is that digital disruptors comprise a business model plus the technology that enables that model and little else. What supports them is a strong network and the ability to identify value in unused assets – and they thrive on change.

“The number one mistake that large organisations make is to underestimate how much there is an immune system inside a company,” said Naam. “Most are driven by process and have always worked a certain way. Try to bring in something new and it gets slow-walked, attacked or resisted. You have to encourage innovation at the edge, away from your core business.”

Andersen agreed that the single most important factor is being able to open the eyes of executives that when data is connected the result is full transparency for the customer, the owner or vendor at the same time. “You will have to educate your CEOs on that because they will know the mistake at the same time as you make it. Your business model is an ecosystem of providers and you have to trust it’s being dealt with. That trust is a big culture change.”

For Klaveness which has founded its own academy to retrain its people to think in this new way, Kristoffersen estimates that “one third of employees has not yet understood what we are trying to do, one third is trying to catch up and one third is running like crazy. The problem is they were already running when we started. The bigger issue is getting the last third up to speed and what happens if we don’t.”

For him and all those scaling the digital Everest, Naam had a simple formula, often repeated, but less often heeded. “You need to have the right people and give them autonomy. The management model of Spotify is ‘trust beats control’; identify your best people, give them room to run and they will deliver new ideas and engines of growth for your business.”