航运业思考末日场景

July 24, 2019

随着新闻议程放缓,决策者前往海滩度假,这成了编辑们在夏初梦寐以求的头版标题。随着世界转向低碳经济,油轮和散货船主“可能会经历资产价值暴跌”,运载化石燃料的船舶成为“搁浅资产”。

消息来源是预测咨询公司 Maritime Strategies International (MSI),该公司从欧洲气候基金获得机会,建模分析当各国遵守对《巴黎协定》承诺时,需求会发生怎样的根本性变化。

事实上,尽管标题带有娱乐性,但还是反映出其试图将报告中最为悲观的内容当作最可能的结果,同时又忽略了近期挑战 – 即如何实现航运脱碳。

正如人们和利益攸关方常常指出的,考虑到行业的碳排放量,与脱碳的挑战相比,IMO2020 的限硫法规只不过是“一个小坡”。此前没有人考虑过,如果需求迅速萎缩,原油和成品油、天然气以及煤炭的货运基地将会发生什么。

航运业与全球贸易共同成长,并且本身也是世界经济增长的关键驱动力。贸易增长中有很大一部分是化石燃料等各类原材料,到目前为止,这种上升势头很少中断。

因此,持续脱离化石燃料贸易(其中 MSI 在全球贸易吨数占比约 28%,估计去年为 37 亿吨)将是一个巨大的变化。

对于 MSI 而言,这种规模的变化根本就没有出现在业界的关注范围内。但是,没有充分认识到有关方面即将对气候变化采取真正长期行动的,并不只有航运一家 – 或许这样的事情看起来太过遥远,并不是当务之急。过去几年里,公众和企业的意识发生了巨大变化,气候目标即将实现

航运业十年来糟糕的收益情况使得许多公司陷入严重的财务困境,再加上运营监管的浪潮,这意味着船东更关注现在而不是未来。但随着 IMO2020 明年生效,二氧化碳排放将踏上舞台的中心。

事实上,对化石燃料的需求 – 尤其是亚洲的需求 – 已经为航运业带来了大部分货运需求增长,而且 MSI 预计尽管速度较慢,但这种增长还将持续。并不只有这些国家受到需求减少的影响,这种影响将在整个行业广泛传播。

如果像 MSI 所说,快速脱离化石燃料会导致油轮和散货船的资产价值下降,可能会引起行业整合,或导致规模较小、适应性较差的船东退出市场。

这是潜在颠覆可能造成的影响,但其复杂之处在于,届时行业将面临贸易和船舶需求减少,同时需要投资具有新发动机/效率技术的船舶,以降低航运业对碳基燃料的依赖。

这一过程的财务可行性很难预测 – 在清洁船舶获得溢价奖励的同时,以碳为燃料的船舶是否会受到惩罚,还有待观察。脱碳的颠覆程度无疑表明,规模较大,较为多样化的船队将会更好地管理该过程,小型企业将遭到损害。

有观点认为,需要优化现货或不定期贸易船队的部署和效率以减少排放 – 例如改善船岸之间通信,以便调整速度并消除港口外的等待时间。这将降低燃料消耗并释放运能,否则船舶将浪费时间等待空闲的装货或卸货泊位。

这个过程可能也是大型船队处理得最好,但理论上讲,如果脱碳会持续导致低收益,所有公司都会同样面临资产贬值的风险。

但如果这种长期威胁是现实存在的,那么在短期内,MSI 认为许多船东将专注于如何将自己的运营脱碳 – 尽管现在要说哪种技术将成为明显的赢家还为时过早。

在一项最近为船级社准备的研究中,美国船级社 (ABS)、MSI 观察到,在区域化航运部门中,采用低碳替代燃料的潜力最大。MSI 评估了来自日本、中国、北欧和挪威等特定地理区域从大型散货船和油轮、近海船舶和渡轮,到短途散货船和支线集装箱船的各型船舶。

此类区域化可以为政府领导层提供机会,促进当地市场的发展和所有权集中,这种所有权主要面向国内/区域内航运公司。这种结合以及客户强化整合,为变革提供了自我强化的环境。

相比之下,深海航运的分散化和高度多样化的性质使得打造适当环境促进落实采用的挑战更大,也更复杂。在专注于区域的部门对多种燃料进行测试之前,不太可能进行广泛采用。

实际上,运费收入(以及资产价值)的提高将取决于某些奖励/惩罚计划的实施,因此较早投资新技术的人最终将获得更高的收益。否则,就没有经济激励来投资新

Shipping considers the doomsday scenario

July 24, 2019

It made the sort of headlines that editors dream about in the early days of summer, as the news agenda slows and decision-makers head for the beach. Tanker and bulker owners ‘could see asset values plunge’ with ships that carry fossil fuels becoming ‘stranded assets’ as the world transitions to a low carbon economy.

Its source, forecasting consultancy Maritime Strategies International, had been given the opportunity by the Europe Climate Foundation to model the radical change in demand that might occur if countries follow their commitments to the Paris Accords.

In fact, the headlines, while diverting, reflected a temptation to grasp the most downbeat aspect of the report as the most likely outcome, while ignoring the nearer-term challenge – how to put decarbonisation of shipping in place.

As has been pointed out frequently and by a number of interested parties, the IMO2020 sulphur regulations represent a ‘bump in the road’ compared to the challenge that decarbonisation poses to the industry in terms of its own carbon contribution. No-one had previously considered what would happen to the cargo base of crude and refined oils, natural gas and coal, if demand shrank rapidly.

The shipping industry has grown up alongside global trade and is itself a key driver of the growth in the world economy. A large part of growth in trade has been in raw materials including fossil fuels and until now there have been few periods when this upward trajectory has been interrupted.

A sustained move away from trade fossil fuel trade (which MSI accounts for about 28% of global trade in tonnes and estimates at 3.7 bn tonnes last year) would therefore represent a dramatic change.

To MSI, change of this magnitude has simply not been on the industry’s radar. But shipping is not alone in failing to fully recognise that real, sustained action on climate change was coming – or perhaps it seemed so far away as not to be an immediate priority. In the last couple of years there has been a sea change in awareness among the general public as well as in business that climate goals are there to be attained.

A decade of terrible earnings endured by the shipping industry which has put many companies under severe financial distress, coupled with waves of operational regulation have meant owners had the present rather than the future on their minds. But with IMO2020 set to come into effect next year, CO2 emissions are moving centre stage.

In fact, demand for fossil fuels – particularly from Asia – has provided the bulk of growth in cargo demand in most shipping sectors for many years and MSI expects this to continue, albeit at a slower pace. These nations though are not the only ones who will be affected by reduced demand, the impact will be widely spread across the industry.

If as MSI suggests, a fast-track move away from fossil fuels results in falling asset values for tankers and bulk carriers, a likely outcome might be consolidation or that smaller, less adaptable owners leave the market.

This is a plausible impact of the potential disruption but the complication here is that under such a scenario the industry will face a reduction to trade and vessel demand at the same time as investment is needed in vessels with new engine/efficiency technology to reduce shipping’s reliance on carbon-based fuels.

How this process will be made financially viable is difficult to predict – whether carbon-burning ships could be penalised at the same time as cleaner ships are rewarded with a premium, remains to be seen. The scale of the disruption created by decarbonisation certainly suggests the process will be better managed by larger, more diversified fleets, to the potential detriment of smaller players.

A related argument is that the deployment and efficiency of the spot or tramp-trading fleet needs to be optimised to reduce emissions – for example by improving communication between ship and shore so that speed can be adjusted to eliminate waiting times outside ports. This will reduce fuel consumption and free up capacity that would otherwise waste time waiting to for a free load or discharge berth.

This process will also arguably be best handled by larger fleets however, in theory, all companies are equally at risk from asset price depreciation if the result of decarbonisation is a sustained period of lower earnings.

But if this long term threat is existential, in the shorter term, MSI thinks many owners will be preoccupied with how to decarbonise their own operations – even though it is too early to know which technology will emerge as the clear winner.

In a recent study prepared for classification society, ABS, MSI observed that the potential for the adoption of alternative low carbon fuels will be greatest in regionalised shipping sectors. MSI assessed ships from very large bulkers and tankers, offshore vessels and ferries as well as short sea bulk carriers and feeder containerships in specific geographic regions including Japan, China, Northern Europe and Norway.

This regionalisation could provide the opportunity for government leadership in facilitating local market development and concentrated ownership that is heavily-oriented towards domestic/regional shipping companies. This cohesion, when allied with a greater integration with customers, provides a self-reinforcing environment for change.

By contrast, the fragmented and highly diversified nature of deep-sea shipping makes achieving the right environment to facilitate adoption a far more complex challenge. There is unlikely to be widespread adoption until multiple fuels have been tested in regionally-focused sectors.

In reality, better freight earnings (and hence asset values) will depend on the implementation of some reward/penalty scheme, so that those how invest early in new technology will ultimately have higher earnings. Otherwise, there will be no financial incentive to invest in new technologies, nor benefit in terms of asset values.