洗涤器经济学、清洁燃料(以及全局态势)

May 22, 2019

几乎所有人都知道 IMO2020 的含硫量上限,但有些内容则没人知道:高低价差,合规燃料的备货量和质量,船上洗涤器的使用效率以及对环境的长期影响。

显而易见的是,虽然《国际防止船舶造成污染公约》附件 VI 的修订版在以洗涤器作为合规手段方面仍然存在分歧,但最终还是反映了标准的航运业惯例。就像使用液化天然气作为燃料一样,洗涤器是达到目的的手段,而不是目的。

最近,里维埃拉海事媒体含硫量上限 2020 活动于阿姆斯特丹举办,期间 Strategy Works 发布研究成果,称即使是计划采用合规燃料的大多数船东和运营商,也会为部分船舶安装洗涤器。

船东仍然担心合规混合燃料在运营中是否可靠,是否能满足安全使用的需要,以及这种选择是否意味着被一家足以服务所有港口的大型供应商捆绑。

该研究包括了完整的航运供应链,确切表明了,尽管适用于游轮行业,但以液化天然气作为燃料仍然是少数权益 – 成本和复杂性已经确定了这一点。

明显较为“简单”的洗涤器解决方案当然具有吸引力 – 据挪威船级社 GL 估计,迄今已安装了 3200 台,数量多于预期,其中大部分都是开环设备,经过处理的洗涤水直接排入海洋。

Strategy Works 的 Michael Herson 表示,洗涤器经济学在推动需求 – 目前估计高低价差为 100-200 美元,但也强调 “这是一场赌注。没有人知道价差会如何发展。但洗涤器商业案例在回笼资金方面非常有吸引力,因此它已经完成了从游轮到商船的渗透。”

根据某制造商的说法,结果是“每个人都试图同时通过同一扇门”。租船人也开始发声,选择吨位适用洗涤器的船舶可以节省潜在的燃料费用。

节能方面的回应同样具有启发性;接下来就是监管以及对从清洁传统燃料到脱碳替代品的更大跃进进行管理。

评论表明,随着氮氧化物被纳入第 III 级管理,EEDI 提供了节约燃料和降低排放的有效手段,而船舶交易则进展缓慢。但随着 2020 年越来越近,更大的问题在于,在行业尝试将燃料流脱碳后会发生什么。

在替代燃料方面,受访者清楚地表明,除了小型渡轮之外,以电池作为主要推进器不具有广泛的应用前景,而尽管氢气成本高昂,具有低温特性且缺乏监管许可,但目前该燃料的呼声最高。

生物燃料也是一种选择,但许多船东并不认为该燃料具有足够的备货量,因为他们需要与陆运、空运以及食品行业竞争货源。在实用替代燃料中,氨和甲醇最受欢迎,甲醇已经投入使用并且可以广泛获取,不过其成本颇具挑战性。

人们对 Flettner 转子等船舶辅助技术的兴趣正在增强,但很明显没有二元解决方案,当然也没有万能药。有人仍然认为需要碳定价,因为即使是可再生能源也需要运输。Herson 说:“压力比预期来得快,航运难免会受陆上事件的影响。”

无论对于哪位监管程序观察员而言,都会发现中国发展形式的有利消息,中国正在实施单边排放控制区域,但也采用了“大棒加胡萝卜”的策略。交通运输部坚持船舶在珠江三角洲、渤海和海南群岛应使用含硫量 0.1% 的燃料,并据此提供港口减税、岸电价格优惠,甚至为含硫量 0.1% 至 0.5% 的燃料实施差异化定价。

这一策略几乎没有争论余地,但 Herson 认为软实力将在资金和航运业管理方面发挥越来越大的作用。银行和私人投资者已经优先考虑为低排放船舶提供资金,而中央银行所传递的消息则是要在整个金融体系中评估气候风险。

为实现国际海事组织规定的 2050 年减排目标,首先需要的做的就是:合作。研究和开发所需的替代燃料将需要生产商和原始设备制造商、学术界和船级社以及会员组织共同投入,从而传达信息。

这个信息就是,2030 年 – 国际海事组织设定的最后期限,届时行业碳排放量较 2008 年必须降低至少 40% – 并不遥远,并且从运输成本巨幅增加,到“航运的非物质化”,再到可能永久减少需求的地区制造业影响,威胁无处不在。
然而,Herson指出,海事资产监控和管理日益趋严,这表明该行业将提高与供应链的组织水平,这本身就是碳减排的一个重要潜在因素。

除了交通管理等地面技术之外,日益增加的地理空间数据也将在监视和监测船舶交通运行及性能方面发挥更大作用。

Airbus 和 Planet 等公司(其投资者包括 Google)已经发射卫星(或启动相关任务)以收集船舶位置数据、航线和速度,并使用算法确定船舶的交通模式。据报道,探测精度可精确至 3 米,不仅包括港口,还包括开阔水域。正如 Herson 所观察到的,“这可能意味着航运业‘狂野西部模式’的终结”,彼时人们不过是目送资产、货物和一切消失在地平线上,然后等待它们在下一个港口重新出现。

这是否完全正确可能还有待证明,但越来越多的有关各方 – 企业、政府和社会团体 – 将专注于航运的环境表现并密切关注改进情况。

Scrubbernomics, clean fuel (and the much bigger picture)

May 22, 2019

Almost everything is known about the IMO2020 sulphur cap, except all the stuff that no-one knows: the hi-lo price spread, availability and quality of compliant fuels, the efficiency of scrubber use on ships and the long term implications for the environment.

What is clear is that, while the revision of Marpol Annex VI to include scrubbers as a means of compliance continues to be divisive, it ultimately reflects standard shipping industry practice. Like the use of LNG as fuel, scrubbers are a means to an end, not an end in themselves.

Research by The Strategy Works presented at the recent Riviera Maritime Media SulphurCap2020 event in Amsterdam suggested that even among a majority of owners and operators who planned to adopt compliant fuel, scrubbers would also be fitted to some ships.

Owners remain concerned about whether compliant blended fuel will be reliable enough in operation to be used safely and whether doing so means locking into a single supplier big enough to serve all ports.

The research, which included the complete shipping supply chain, certainly suggests that LNG as fuel will remain a minority interest – cost and complexity have seen to that – apart for its suitability for the cruise sector.

The apparently ‘simple’ scrubber solution is certainly appealing – DNV GL estimates that 3,200 have been installed to date, more than it had anticipated, the majority of these are open loop with discharge of treated wash water direct to the ocean.

Strategy Works’ Michael Herson said scrubbernomics were driving demand – with current estimates of a $100-200 hi-lo price differential but stresses “this is a bet. Nobody knows what the spread is really going to be. But the scrubber business case is compelling in terms of getting your money back so it has penetration from cruise to merchant ships”.

The result is that ‘everyone is trying to go through the same door at the same time’ according to one manufacturer. The charterers have also found their voice, choosing scrubber-fitted tonnage that enables them to pocket potential fuel savings.

Equally instructive were responses on energy saving; what comes next in terms of regulation and how to manage the much bigger jump from clean conventional fuel to decarbonised alternatives.

With NOx emissions now considered to be managed under the Tier III requirements, the comments indicated the EEDI was providing an effective means to save fuel and lower emissions, with vessels trading progressively more slowly. But with the 2020 horizon visible, the bigger question is what happens next, when the industry attempts to decarbonise its fuel stream.

In terms of alternative fuels, survey respondents were clear that beyond small scale ferries, battery power doesn’t have widespread future application as main propulsion but that hydrogen currently heads the popularity contest despite its vast cost, cryogenic characteristics and lack of regulatory permissions.

Biofuels are considered an option but many owners don’t think there will be enough available as they will need to compete with land and aviation transport modes as well as for food use. Of the practical alternative fuels, Ammonia was considered among the most popular together with Methanol, which is already in use and widely available, though challenged in terms of cost.

Interest in complementary vessel technologies such as Flettner rotors is gathering momentum but it is clear there is no binary solution and certainly no silver bullets. Some continue to believe that carbon pricing will be required since shipping will be required to compete even for renewable energy sources. “The pressure is going to come sooner than expected, shipping is not immune from events on land,” Herson said.

For any watcher of the regulatory process, he had salutary news in the form of developments in China, where unilateral emission control areas are being imposed, but using a combination of stick and carrot. By insisting that vessels burn 0.1% sulphur fuel in the Pearl River Delta, the Bohai Sea and Hainan Islands the ministry of transport is offering port dues reductions, shore power at preferential prices and even the cash differential between 0.1% and 0.5% sulphur.

Hardly a strategy one can argue with, but Herson contended that soft power would increasingly have a role to play in both funding and regulating the shipping industry. Banks and private investors are already prioritising funding of lower emission vessels and the message from central banks is that climate risk needs to be assessed across the whole financial system.

To achieve anything like the 2050 reduction levels mandated by IMO will require one thing above all: collaboration. Research and development of the required alternative fuels will require the combined input of producers and OEMs, academia and class as well as membership organisations to drive the message home.

That message is that 2030 – the IMO deadline by which the industry must reduce carbon emissions by at least 40% from 2008 levels – is not far away and the threat ranges from severe shipping cost increases to the ‘dematerialisation of shipping’ with local impacts to manufacturing which could permanently reduce demand.

Herson pointed out however that the trend was moving towards greater monitoring and management of maritime assets, which suggests that the industry will become more organised along the supply chain, itself a big potential contributor to carbon reduction.

In addition to ground level techniques such as traffic management, the increasing availability of geospatial data will play a greater role in surveillance and monitoring of vessel traffic operations and performance.

Companies including Airbus and Planet (which includes Google among its investors) have already launched or tasked satellites to collect vessel position data, routes and speed and using algorithms determine patterns in vessel traffic. Detection is reportedly accurate to 3m and includes not just ports but open waters. As Herson observed, “this could mean the end of the wild west in shipping” where an asset, cargo and all disappears over the horizon and re-appears only at the next port.

Whether that proves entirely true is perhaps too early to say, but an increasing number of interested parties – commercial, governmental and societal – will be focussed on shipping’s environmental performance and watching closely for improvements.