不只是周期:航运业会创造气候财富吗?

April 17, 2019

监管与技术的融合受到航运业的持续关注,这是有充分理由的。但是,除了 IMO2020 及其对市场的影响仍然存在争议外,业内正在形成一种共识,那就是接下来要让硫排放合规看起来容易些。

正如咨询公司 Marsoft 的 Arlie Sterling 在本月的 CMA 大会上指出的,航运业面临的挑战是要在应该看到机会的地方发现问题。因此,这离实现大幅碳排放削减的目标还有很长的路要走,这需要在 2030 年和 2050 年之前完成,更不用说拥有实现目标的技术手段了。

“我们往往会被问到这个周期之后会发生什么,我们通常会说等下一个周期吧,但是这个行业的现状还有更多需要我们思考的地方。”他说道。

为了比较航运业与其他相关行业在积极应对气候变化方面的战略,Sterling 对美国证券交易管理委员会的 10-K 报表进行了研究。他发现,所有上市货主和银行都有详细的气候变化应对战略,但上市船东中仅有 25% 制定了相关战略。

他认为这是个问题,因为你不能信誓旦旦地谈论风险因素,然后却什么都不做。航运公司需要与贷款机构和客户保持一致。这就是思维模式的意义所在;有人对美国能源公司 Cheniere 和汽车制造商 Tesla 的股价进行了研究,这两家公司在很短的时间内为股东创造了巨大的价值,而他们所处的市场在十年前可以说是不存在的。

他认为,在没有碳定价的情况下,航运业应专注于通过拯救生命来创造财富。“如今死于煤矿的人越来越少了,而受污染的空气成为了威胁生命的更大元凶。使用清洁能源可以拯救生命;中国向清洁能源的转型每年将拯救 100 万人的生命,同时还会带来 160 亿美元的液化天然气运输船投资。”

从控制硫排放开始着手,最终要实现碳排放的控制,Sterling 承认,航运业对于复杂问题的理解还处于初级阶段,但将来的进展会很快。联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会 (IPCC) 设定的目标是要在 2050 年实现全球净零碳经济,但是它还指出,此前将全球升温幅度控制在 2℃ 以下的目标不足以带来不可逆的变化。

到 2050 年实现净零碳排放听起来很困难,即便如此,Sterling 认为这是可以实现的,他的数据可以支持这一观点。在过去 45 年,各国的碳排放强度(假设起始水平为 100)平均下降到了 20% 或更低水平。“这个数据告诉我们,世界各国可以做到降低碳排放强度,并且仍能实现经济增长。未来的趋势就是,我们以及我们的朋友需要付出更多努力来寻找提取碳的技术。”

航运业依然面临着各种挑战,其中一个明显的挑战就是,除去液化天然气、生物柴油、甲醇、氢气以及碳本身这类“新能源”外,油气运输并不是一个成长型业务。Sterling 认为,除非航运业愿意对气候变化做出贡献,否则将会面临融资渠道难度和成本的提高,从而影响其资产价值。

他说,这将会让船东和租船人之间的契约变得更复杂、更苛刻,真正需要接受教育、进行团队合作的是船东。

Sterling 顾问曾指出,他对航运业未来发展的解读中,有“三件事”值得航运公司借鉴。第一,要“承担问题”未来才能发展壮大,必须将可持续发展融入到企业文化中。

第二,公司应该提升自己的绿色信贷评级,许多机构可以对此提供支持。

第三,要有分辨能力和创新能力,想办法改变你的抱负,这是最难的。投机取巧的周期投资是过去航运业的一大特点;在拥有现金且面临交易对手的情况下,现在依然会有这样的投资行为。

所有这些说起来容易做起来难。如果你的适应战略跟不上监管变动,你怎么能承担问题呢?其风险不在于航运业的传统监管机构将要加速议程,而是个别国家/地区、州或城市实施了一系列带有民粹主义色彩的不协调战略。

尽管这些变化是从地方开始逐渐向上传播,而不是从上至下传播的,但这项任务的范围和规模是全球性的,而且需要新的实现途径。

“财富不仅仅指金钱,我们必须从人类的角度来谈论财富。几年前,这样的对话会被当成是一种政治正确。我很高兴这都成为了过去。周期和季度数据不再是衡量成功的唯一标准,我们还要考量管理足迹的方法。”

那么,这个周期之后会发生什么呢?还会有新的周期出现。“但是这是一个可以赢得或失去一切的机会。”

Not just about the cycle: can the shipping industry create climate wealth?

April 17, 2019

The confluence of regulation and technology continues to occupy the shipping industry’s attention, for good reasons. But beyond the residual arguments around IMO2020 and its effects on the markets, a consensus is emerging that what comes next is going to make sulphur compliance look easy.

The challenge for the industry, as Arlie Sterling of consultancy Marsoft pointed out to the CMA conference this month is that it tends to see problems where it should see opportunities. As a result, it is a long way from the mindset of achieving the huge carbon emission cuts and it will need to be made by 2030 and 2050, let alone having the technical means to do so.

“What we tend to get asked is, what happens after the cycle and we usually say, just wait for the next one, but there’s more going on in the business that we need to think about,” he said.

Sterling looked at filings to the Securities and Exchange Commission of 10-K forms to understand how shipping compared in having a proactive strategy on climate change. He found that of the publicly-listed cargo owners and banks, 100% of them had a detailed strategy on tackling climate change, while of the listed shipowners it was mentioned by just 25%.

This is a problem, he said, because you can’t credibly talk about risk factor and then not do anything about it. Shipping needs to get on the same page as its lenders and customers. This is where the mindset comes in; one that looks at, say the share price of US energy company Cheniere and carmaker Tesla which have created massive value for shareholders in a short space of time in markets that arguably didn’t exist 10 years ago.

In the absence of carbon pricing, shipping should focus on creating wealth by saving lives, he suggested. “Fewer people die in a coal mine these days, you die because you breathe contaminated air. Cleaner energies save lives; China’s transition to clean energy will save a million lives a year and represents $16bn of investment in LNG carriers.”

What starts with sulphur emissions control ends at carbon and as Sterling conceded, the industry is at the early stages of understanding a complex problem, but progress will be fast. The IPCC has set a target of a net zero carbon global economy by 2050, but it has also stated that the previous aim of capping warming at 2oC will not be enough to present irreversible changes.

If net zero carbon by 2050 sounds a steep curve, then Sterling thinks it could be achievable and he has the data to support his thesis. In the past 45 years, carbon intensity in national terms (assuming a starting level of 100) has fallen on average to 20% or below. “The data tells us that the world can reduce carbon intensity and economies can still show growth. That trend is our friend and we need to do significantly more in finding technologies to extract carbon.

Challenges for shipping remain and the obvious one is that hydrocarbon transport is not a growth business, excluding ‘new fuels’ like LNG, biodiesel, methanol, hydrogen and possibly carbon itself. Until shipping embraces its climate change contribution, Sterling suggested, access to capital would be harder and more expensive, impacting the value of assets.

The result will be a more complex and demand engagement between owners and charterers, and it’s the owners that need to be educated and play a team game, he said.

Ever the consultant, Sterling suggested there were ‘three things’ that the industry could take away from his trot through the future of shipping. The first is ‘own the problem’ to thrive in the future, sustainability has to be embedded in corporate culture.

Second, companies should work to improve their green credit rating – there are plenty of agencies that can support that process.

The third is most difficult – differentiate and innovate – work out how to scale your ambitions. Opportunistic cyclical investment is what has characterised the shipping industry; that is still possible with access to cash and counterparties.

All of these are easier said than done. How can you own the problem if regulatory change moves faster than your adaptation strategy? The risk is not that shipping’s traditional regulators will accelerate their agenda, but that individual nations, states or cities implement in a range of un-coordinated strategies driven by political populism.

Despite these changes filtering up from local level rather than from the top down, the task is global in scope and scale and it demands a new approach.

“Wealth is not just money, we have to talk about it in human terms. A few years ago, conversations like this would have been called political correctness. I’m so happy that’s in the past. We will measure success not just in cycles and quarters but how we manage the footprint.”

So, what happens after the cycle? There’s another one. “But this one is an opportunity to win – or lose – it all.”