老无所依的航运业

April 24, 2019

做出改变的第一步是承认改变的必要性,如果以此为标准,那海事行业的数字化转型进程应该早已取得相当不错的进展。依据亚洲海事展 (Sea-Asia) 对数字化的高度关注来判断,数字化主题在船东心目中的位置高于监管和盈利能力。

这似乎有点本末倒置,但无论对错,技术都被吹捧为了合规方式及盈利的关键。海事 CEO 论坛以独特的顺序给与了此话题应有的位置,将技术加速器、领先船舶管理公司、无人船平台和业内领先的通信供应商集中起来,展开了大范围的探讨。

从根本上来讲,数字化进程可能仍然不够快,而且受到了类似问题的妨碍;这些问题包括挑战规模、缺乏合作以及四分五裂的供应商驱动方法等等。但勇敢无畏者,或者说志存高远者仍有理由保持积极心态,也依然面临众多机遇。

顺便说一下,在上周举行的 CMA 航运大会上,多家资金雄厚的高科技公司介绍了他们从初创公司到行业参与者的转变,不过他们解决的问题听上去十分类似。

航运业如何才能将数字化从梦想转变为现实?数字化转型是否对所有航运业从业者都是必要的?Wallem 首席执行官弗兰克·科尔斯 (Frank Coles) 主要运营技术主导型业务,他确信问题不在于稀缺,而是太过充裕。

“航运业的确需要变革,但变革的切入点应该是行政管理,而非船舶,也就是说要变革领导层。目前的现代化和以技术为驱动力的文化还不够浓厚,”他表示。“当前的状况是,很多人都在讨论四分五裂、彼此毫无关联的应用程序和工具,他们将这些应用程序和工具展示给因为不知道如何使用它们而充满困惑且心存恐惧的人。这些应用程度和工具彼此无关,缺乏整体合作。”

One Sea 是一个推动 OEM 合作的平台,其目标是发展自动驾驶船舶技术,该平台生态系统负责人帕维·海柯拉 (Päivi Haikkola) 认为仅依靠开放应用程序编程接口 (API) 不足以激发对合作的渴望。“必须承认,我们发现实际行动比理论探讨要困难得多,内部系统数量极多,大家害怕如果开放 IP,那他们的 IP 可能会消失。”

国际海事卫星组织 (Inmarsat Maritime) 对物联网展开了调查,发现 51% 的受访者“不知道”应该如何获取船舶的实时信息,该调查结果令公司总裁罗纳德·斯贝特奥 (Ronald Spithout) 倍感震惊,也进一步证明了我们仍处于数字化之旅的开端。

“到目前为止,我们的进展是船东能使用应用程序节省成本;这是航运业整体数字化水平的下限,只有最见多识广的舶管理者正在向下一个等级迈进,”他表示。(数字化领域)大多数组织的能力尚不达标,标准和平台四分五裂,不成体系。”

数字化在货物运输领域极具新意,到目前为止,航运业的数字化转型重点似乎在于节省小额资金,缺乏远大愿景。斯贝特奥也认为解决方案过多,他希望能看到一个以标准化方式交换应用程序和数据的切实平台。

“问题在于这是颠覆,而非创新,”科尔斯补充说。“我们努力寻求变革,但要实现目标难度很高。目前我们需要尽可能推行无纸化,但很多公司仍在一个办公室内同时使用 15 至 20 种不同的应用程序。我们希望实现自动化,但却在处理大量纸质文件;这种情况显然不对。”

Dhritiman Hui 为由 Techstars 驱动的 EPS MaritimeTech 加速器提供了高级航运经验,他表示部分问题与某个经济领域相关。“精通技术的青年创业家不会将航运业作为自己的目标,它犹环境中的杂音,并没有足够多的技术专家试图在这方面有所作为,”他表示。当然也有例外,Flexport 就是“典型代表”,这家公司的估值超过了 Inmarsat,Hui 认为“未来 10 年左右情况将发生巨变,船东必须领先于变革潮流。”

但这种创业模式不一定是正确的,因为它重点关注彼此无关的问题,该模式专为短期回报设计,并未着眼于长期解决方案。Hui 指出,不同于金融科技或出行共享,青年创业家在这些领域只需数万名用户就能展开有限实验,“而航运业的创新事关巨型船舶以及随之而来的所有风险,外部人员很难进入航运业并展开实验。”相反,他提倡与业内人士合作,让船东和管理人员有机会掌控颠覆局势,而非遭到颠覆。

海柯拉同意该观点,她表示创新挑战的规模庞大,这意味着投资者的投资总额以及相应规模的初创公司数量远远不够。“我们早就意识到了,要以必须持续 20 年的技术来支持员工人数为 10 的初创公司,这可谓一场灾难。我们所说的初创公司是指像 IBM 这种未涉足海事行业或无人船舶领域的企业。”

缺乏合作也意味着并未达到航运业采用超越入门级技术所需的标准化水平。她承认即使大型 OEM 参与其中,任务也依然“过于艰巨”,这并不是因为他们不愿共享数据和信息,而是因为必须分步破解并应对挑战。

现实情况或许是航运业需要完成新一轮裁员和新一轮退休以推动转型。Hui 同意此观点,他指出他的同行和同事都欢迎技术、创新、简化和节约成本,但只有创造更多值得分享的成功故事才会迎来新机遇。

科尔斯刚刚过完了一个隆重的生日,他也认为很多公司的管理层的思维还停留在 20 年前,斯贝特奥倡导将青年人才与经验相结合。

海柯拉则指出只有提高性别多元性才能加强创意思维,但她也指出“伊隆·马斯克 (Elon Musk) 是个中年白人男性”。所以或许航运业到底还是有希望的。

No industry for old men

April 24, 2019

The first step in making a change is acknowledging the need for change and by that marker, the maritime industry should by now be well along with the process of digital transformation. To judge by the attention lavished on digitalisation at Sea-Asia, the topic ranks ahead of regulation and profitability in the minds of owners.

That appears to put the cart before the horse, but rightly or wrongly, technology is being touted as the means to comply with the former and as a key to unlock the latter. The Maritime CEO Forum was uniquely able to give the topic its due place in the pecking order, bringing together a tech accelerator, a leading shipmanager, an autonomous ship platform and the industry’s leading communications provider for a discussion that ranged widely.

Ultimately, digital progress is probably still not fast enough and is hampered by familiar issues; the scale of the challenge, a lack of collaboration and a fragmented vendor-driven approach to name but three. But there is reason to be positive and still plenty of opportunity for the ambitious, if not the brave.

And as an aside, the previous week’s CMA Shipping had seen numerous well-funded technology bucks describe their transition from start-ups to industry players – though the problems they were tackling sounded very familiar.

So how does shipping get from digital dreaming to reality – and is it even necessary for all players? Wallem CEO Frank Coles has run technology-focussed businesses and is no doubt that the problem is not scarcity but abundance.

“The industry does need to change but it starts in the office not on the ship, with leadership. There is not enough culture around modernising and using technology as an enabler,” he said. “What we have is a lot of people talking fragmented and unconnected apps and tools and they are presenting to people who are very confused and very scared because they don’t understand how to use them. None of it is connected and we’re not collaborating.”

Päivi Haikkola is Ecosystem Lead at One Sea, a platform that drives OEM collaboration with the aim of developing autonomous vessel technology and has found that the desire for collaboration requires more than just open APIs. “I have to admit we have found it is not as easy as it sounds, there are so many internal systems and everyone is afraid their IP will disappear if they open them up.”

The feeling that we are still at the start of the digital journey was reinforced by Inmarsat Maritime President Ronald Spithout who was shocked by the company’s research into IoT which found that 51% of respondents had ‘no clue’ how to get real time information off their vessels.

“What we have so far is owners using apps for cost saving; that’s the lowest level of digitalisation of the industry as a whole. Only the most sophisticated shipmanagers are getting to the next level,” he said. “The capacity of most organisations [in the digital sphere] is still not there at all, with enormous fragmentation in standards and platforms.”

Incredibly innovative in cargo transport, it seems shipping’s engagement with digital so far is about saving nickels and dimes rather than having a wider vision. Spithout agreed there are far too many solutions and hopes to see a de facto platform where apps and data can be interchanged in a standardised way.

“The problem is that it’s disruption and not innovation,” added Coles. “We’re looking for change but it’s really hard to get there. Companies are still using 15-20 different applications in an office when we should be driving towards the least amount of paper as possible. We’re talking autonomy and pushing paper; there’s something wrong with the narrative.”

Dhritiman Hui, who brings high level shipping experience to EPS MaritimeTech Accelerator Powered by Techstars, says that part of the problem is sectoral. “For young and tech savvy entrepreneurs, shipping is not something you look at. It hums along in the background and not enough technologists have tried to do anything,” he said. Exceptions include ‘poster boy’ Flexport whose valuation exceeds that of Inmarsat and Hui believes the situation “is going to change exponentially over the next 10 years or so. Owners will have to stay ahead of that curve.”

But is the start-up model the right one since it tends to focus on discrete problems in a model designed for a short term payback rather than a long term solution. Hui pointed out that unlike in fintech or ride sharing, where a young entrepreneur can run a limited experiment with tens of thousands of users, “in shipping you are talking about innovating around a massive vessel with all the risks attached. It’s much harder for an outsider to come in and experiment.” Instead he advocated teaming up with an incumbent as this gave owners and managers the opportunity to get in on the disruption rather than be disrupted.

Haikkola agreed and said the size of the innovation challenge meant that the sums investors could put in and the relative scale start-up companies were far from sufficient. “We realised early on that to back a 10 person start-up on technology that has to last for 20 years is a disaster. When we talk about start-ups what we mean is start-ups like IBM, companies that are not in maritime or autonomy.”

The lack of collaboration also means there is very little of the standardisation that is needed, if the industry is to adopt more than the entry level technology. She admitted that even with big OEMs onboard, the task was ‘overwhelming’ not because they wouldn’t share data and information but because the challenges had to be broken out and addressed piece by piece.

Perhaps the reality is that the industry needs another shakeout of personnel in order to drive transformation – and a round of retirements. Hui disagreed, noting that his peers and colleagues all want technology, innovation, simplification and cost savings but that new opportunities would come only by having more success stories to share.

Having just celebrated a significant birthday himself, Coles agreed that too many companies were staffed by managers thinking in terms of 20 years ago and Spithout advocated for a blend of youth and experience.

For her part, Haikkola pointed out that more creative thinking would result from greater gender diversity, though she noted ‘Elon Musk is a middle aged white man’. So perhaps there’s hope for shipping after all.