数字化真的会损害企业的盈利能力吗?

August 28, 2019

数字化对企业的最大威胁是什么?外部颠覆或内部混乱?或者可能是更稀松平常的威胁;即变革的速度本身会削弱公司的盈利能力,尤其是无法获取所需技能的公司。

针对海事行业提高短期业绩和长期可持续性的所有评估基本都表明,海事业亟需加强航运、港口和物流领域的彼此联系。

港口和航运之间的效率不匹配尤为突出,导致各项新技术被用于众多物流流程,包括自动调度、多家航运公司货物合并、按需货车运输和基于承运人的数据分析。

投资流本身就表明了此变革的规模与速度。但创新速度及其带来的不稳定性(包括来自新兴初创企业竞争对手的威胁)导致部分首席执行官对其公司业务不久后的前景至多仅持乐观态度。

普华永道咨询公司第 22 届年度全球首席执行官调查采访了运输与物流领域的首席执行官,他们对所在企业未来 12 个月利润增长的自信心跌到了五年来的最低值。2017 年,29% 的受访者表示他们“十分自信”,45% 的受访者完全抱持着自信态度。

普华永道能为想在利用技术维护或提高市场份额和利润率方面迈出第一步的运输公司提供众多建议。

普华永道认为,区块链技术利用率相对较低,但对于运输与物流领域具有重大潜力,能帮助他们打破物流领域由于透明度不足、官僚作风或传统纸质系统导致的瓶颈。

区块链或许能消除上述大多数障碍,因为它能发挥加密数字账本的作用,跟踪产品从仓库到客户的移动过程,并在货物运往目的地的过程中将相关文件与货运直接挂钩。

区块链最大的影响或许是减少最后一英里送货效率低下现象,提高素来利润微薄且管理成本高昂的部分运输业务的利润率。

普华永道认为,运输公司也应该考虑使用人工智能来帮助自己从竞争对手中脱颖而出,提供更高水平的服务,削减成本并提高日常运营水平。

例如,更多地使用与监控燃油消耗并推荐减少消耗品用量方法的人工智能程序相连的船载传感器,从而大幅改善船队管理。人工智能还能为程序提供助力,在昂贵而耗时的重大故障发生前实施主动维护活动,目前领先的船级社已开始对这方面展开考查。

在流量调度方面,人工智能可利用船队传感器网络预测需求并组织装运,同时提供精确的交货时间。这不仅能提高效率;而且也能创造动态定价的可能性。

旅行社会根据需求调整价格,力求每张票都能产生最高的可能收益,运输公司也是如此,他们可以根据提货量、装运量和交货量来调整收费。虽然这在陆地物流环境中较为新颖,但租船市场已经出现了类似情况,以应对需求峰值和谷值。

在利用数字工具提高业绩和改善成果的讨论中,人们往往会忽略新技术可能对业务的非技术部分产生的积极催化作用,包括员工的部署方式。

正如技术能帮助公司跟踪并合并货物,运输公司也可利用更稳健、极其细致并按地点划分的供需数据为员工开发灵活的调度程序。

将具备创新理念的初创企业与历史悠久的运输公司联系起来的合作或联盟未来会成为常态,将成为独特的人才招聘方式,这些人才能构思新方法,从而在运营和改善为客户提供的服务方面实施先进技术。

接受最新调查的首席执行官显然需要精通技术的员工;55% 的受访者表示他们“十分担忧”技术缺口会妨碍创新,53% 的受访者表示这会导致他们无法实现增长目标,49% 的受访者表示这会导致他们无法把握市场机遇。

但这些担忧情绪目前尚未导致科技公司和现有运输企业展开大量并购或合资活动,业内的直接竞争者几乎毫无并购或合资迹象。其实,仅 37% 的调查受访者预期他们会达成任何类型的战略联盟或合资,仅 26% 的受访者表示他们希望与创业者或初创企业合作。

普华永道表示,新竞争不断涌现,新技术同时冲击运输与物流行业,要在这种情况下幸存,首席执行官必须准备好超越近几年的表现,采纳更多新战略。

运营结构和管理方式,如何将数字技术用于富有创意的用途和方法,以及如何招聘和部署员工等,这一切都是时候做出改变了。

至少从外部视角看来,运输业一般并非以技术敏捷度或快速革新的倾向而著称。但为了保持竞争力并实现未来的业务发展,如今的企业理应跨出舒适圈,而非死守它们熟悉的业务经营方式。

Could digitalisation actually harm your profitability?

August 28, 2019

What is the biggest threat to business from digitalisation? Disruption from outside or dislocation from within? Or could it be something more prosaic; that the pace of change itself reduces a company’s degree of profitability, especially if they cannot source the skills they require.

Virtually all assessments of the ability of the maritime to improve its short term performance and long term sustainability, make much of the need to enhance connectivity between shipping, ports and logistics sectors.

The efficiency mismatch between ports and shipping in particular is the reason that new technologies are being targeting towards a number of logistics processes, including automated scheduling, the consolidation of cargo from multiple shippers, on-demand trucking and carrier-based data analytics.

The flow of investment in itself shows the scale and speed of this change. But it is the pace of innovation and the uncertainty it brings — including the threat of new start-up competitors — which explains why some CEOs are sanguine at best about prospects for their own businesses in the immediate future.

Questioned as part of consultancy PwC’s 22nd Annual Global CEO Survey, chief executives in the transport and logistics sector, confidence expressed in their own organisation’s revenue growth over the next 12 months was at a five-year low. Only 29% stated they were ‘very confident’ while in 2017, 45% were safely in the confident camp.

PwC itself is not short on advice for transport companies looking to get on the first rung of using technology to defend or build market share and improve margins.

One technology that it believes is relatively unexploited yet holds meaningful potential for transport and logistics is Blockchain to solve bottlenecks in the logistics arena due to a lack of transparency, red tape or legacy paper-based systems.

Blockchain has the potential to eliminate most of these roadblocks because it can serve as an encrypted digital ledger, tracking the movements of products from warehouse to customer and linking documentation directly to the shipment as it makes its way to the destination.

Its biggest impact could be in reducing the inefficiencies in last-mile deliveries, driving up profit margins in a part of the transport business that is notoriously thin on returns and costly to manage.

Transport companies should also consider the use of Artificial Intelligence to help them distinguish themselves from competitors, provide a higher level of service, cut costs and enhance day-to-day operations, it believes.

For instance, fleet management could be greatly improved by the greater use of sensors onboard ship connected to AI programmes that monitor fuel consumption and recommend ways to minimise usage of consumables. AI can also power programmes that drive proactive maintenance activities before expensive and time-wasting major breakdowns occur, something that leading class societies are already examining.

For traffic scheduling, AI can tap networks of fleet sensors to forecast demand and organise shipments while providing precise delivery times. This not just improves efficiency; it opens up the possibility of dynamic pricing.

Just as travel companies adjust prices based on demand, seeking to generate the highest possible return for each ticket, transport companies could adjust their charges on the basis of pickup, shipment and delivery volume. While new in a landside logistics context, something similar happens in the charter market already as supply responds to peaks and troughs in demand.

Often lost in discussions about improving performance and results with digital tools is the positive, catalysing effect that new technology can have on non-technical parts of the business, including how workforces are deployed.

Just as technology will allow companies to track and consolidate shipments, transport firms could use the more robust and extremely granular location-by-location supply-and-demand data to develop flexible scheduling programmes for workers.

Partnerships or alliances linking start-ups with innovative technology ideas and established transport firms may become more routine in the future, especially as a way to recruit talent that is able to conceive new ways to implement advanced technology both in operations and in improving services offered to customers.

The need for these more technologically savvy employees is evident to CEOs responding to the latest survey; 55% said they were ‘extremely concerned’ that this skills gap does not allow them to innovate, 53% said that it is causing them to miss their growth targets, and 49% said that it is preventing them from pursuing a market opportunity.

But these sentiments are not yet resulting in much M&A or joint venture activity among technology firms and incumbent transport businesses, and virtually none among direct competitors in the industry. Indeed, only 37% of survey respondents anticipated entering into a strategic alliance or joint venture of any sort, and a mere 26% said they expect to collaborate with entrepreneurs or start-ups.

To survive in the midst of so much new competition and new technology simultaneously hitting the transport and logistics industry, executives must be prepared to adopt new strategies more than they have been in recent years, says PwC.

Everything — including how operations are structured and managed, the way digital technologies are adapted for creative uses and approaches, and how the workforce is hired and deployed — is ripe for change.

From the outsider perspective at least, the transport business is generally not known for its technological agility or its propensity for rapid reinvention. But to remain competitive and to grow their businesses in future, companies today shouldn’t grow too comfortable with familiar ways of doing business.