自动驾驶船舶是否能够拯救世界?

August 15, 2019

考虑到此前网络上有文章质疑 OEM 推行自动驾驶的主张,并认为这将在逻辑上终结航运业,本文这一积极的标题可能被解释为一种挑衅。

在某种程度上的确如此,但和所有的好问题一样,答案完全取决于观察视角。除了数字技术的影响之外,航运还面临一个更大的问题,即需要具备可持续性,并在逐渐脱碳的经济中寻找新的商业模式。

有人把自动驾驶船舶吹捧为减少排放的最佳手段之一,认为其足以满足国际海事组织 2050 年的二氧化碳排放目标。建立一支效率超高的清洁动力船队,接入供应链,并能够在微观上调整延迟和中断,然后就得到了能够同时回答多个问题的解决方案。

但是,除了技术/初创/OEM 泡沫之外,困扰上述操作的问题在于,它们看起来与今天的航运业分隔甚远,到 2030 年,甚至直到 2050 年,其实现机会看起来都很渺茫。

众多领域仍有许多工作要做,但主要的问题当然是监管框架、成熟的导航和通信技术以及数字供应链的完全缺失。

尽管如此,欧盟委员会水上运输总监,Magda Kopczynska 最近评论称,“人们把这些问题与自动化对工作的影响以及行业如何吸引并发展所需技能的问题进行相对的比较,而我们还不知道会需要什么样的技能”。

“监管机构所面临的挑战,将是如何制定包含零排放、零事故以及包容平衡的工作环境在内的长期愿景。”

发展自动驾驶船舶基础设施意味着资金,这意味着依靠政府支持解决技术和环境绩效方面的差距。按照预料,欧盟委员会的出发点在于,如何让尽可能广泛的利益攸关方群体共享利益。

Kopczynska 表示,哪怕人们获得资本的难度不同,监管机构也“需要取得平衡,既为一线领跑者提供机会,也要让第二波采用者得以赶上,方便人们利用这个机会”。

涉及由谁评估安全制度的发展和风险量化时,国际海事组织是合乎逻辑的选择,但前沿思想家敦促,事物的监督不该交到其发明者手中。政府、监管机构、船级社和技术供应商彼此合作才是唯一的出路。

OEM 还认为,在没有监管的情况下实现自主性将变得越来越困难,但又需要试验台和平台才能积累所需的编写经验。

这反过来又会导致两三个主要技术参与者占据支配地位,从而导致选择不足和买方锁定。供应商说,这样不行;要成功实现自主性就需要各方合作,特别是与中小企业合作以获得新技术,实现一个非垄断性的财团。

人们还意识到,大型远洋自动驾驶船舶的圆滑营销内容要高于实际可交付的内容 – 更可能的情况是,较小的近海和短途船向电气化、自动化转变并最终实现自动驾驶的速度要远高于远洋船舶。

这可能意味着第一批自动驾驶船舶会出现在欧洲水道,而该地区既需要减少当地排放,又面临着劳动力老龄化以及下一代船员招募困难。

相比之下,吸引资金则相对简单 – 至少在发达经济体是这样 – Kopczynska 希望看到“介于自动领航和适合行业采用规模的项目之间的船桥”。我们需要让领跑者去奔跑,同时也要允许分享更广泛的利益,这样可以带回领跑者,从而改变整个行业”。

实现发展自动驾驶所需导航的资金释放速度取决于于当地条件和各国的发展速度。例如,在挪威,随着石油和天然气投资开始下降,执行试点计划的机会可能会增加;其他地区可能不那么幸运。

但随着公众舆论继续向实现可持续发展目标转变,人们意识到,行业内外需要改变心态。在亚洲和欧洲之间运输数千个集装箱可能十分高效,但系统在该航程开始和结束时都会承压。

Kopczynska 在集装箱航运革命的背景下思考数字化的影响,但认为它会造成更大的影响,“因为自动驾驶船舶航运可能会影响整个行业,但如果行业内没有大规模地‘将一切数字化’,就不会发生这种情况”。

“让船舶更深地融入更广泛的运输链条才是真正的革命,”她表示。“一旦人们知晓了这种影响,就有可能描绘出一个完全数字化的‘运输系统’。”

她于 6 月在奥斯陆 SINTEF 国际船舶自主性与可持续发展峰会上的讲话表明,在通往自动驾驶的旅程中,人们需要比部分企业家曾经想象的更具共享精神。而该主题的相关思考演变表明,OEM、船东和创新者自己也愈发这样认为。

虽然有些项目旨在实现完全自动驾驶,但要获得更广泛的采用,更多地还是取决于可行的商业案例,而不是技术本身。而能够提高可持续性的自动化并不意味着完全取代船员,而是专注于那些身处最危险岗位的人。

行业自动化的问题可能在于,它看起来像是一场没有回头路的赌注,需要人们全情投入,这一观点在程度上有所夸大,智能数字化的未来将是渐进式的,而不是我们所熟悉的全面竞争模式。

正如未来没有任何一种能源能够独自为船队提供动力一样,未来的自主性也不止一种答案。这也正是挑战所在。

Can autonomous ships save the world?

August 15, 2019

Since the website is home to some articles that have previously cast doubt over the claims of the OEMs pushing autonomy as the logical endgame for the shipping industry, such a positive headline might be construed as a provocation.

In part it is, but like all the best questions, it depends entirely on perspective. Beyond the impact of digital technology, shipping has a bigger problem, which is the need for sustainability and to find new business models in a gradually decarbonising economy.

Autonomous ships are being touted as one of the best means to cut emissions by enough to meet the IMO’s 2050 CO2 emissions targets. Build a fleet of super-efficient, clean-powered ships, plugged into the supply chain and able to adjust microscopically to delays and interruptions and you have a solution that answers several questions at once.

The issues that concern those operating outside of the tech/start-up/OEM bubble is that this is so divorced from what shipping looks like today that the chances of achieving it by 2030 or even 2050 look slim.

So much remains to be done across so many areas, but the major issue must be a complete lack of anything like a regulatory framework, proven navigation and communications technology and a digital supply chain.

Still, as Director for Waterborne Transport with the European Commission Magda Kopczynska remarked recently “these issues are relative compared to the impact of automation on jobs and how the industry attracts and develops the skills it needs, when we don’t yet know what they will be”.

“The challenge for regulators will be how to develop a long term vision that encompasses zero emissions, zero accidents and an inclusive and balanced working environment.”

Developing an autonomous ship infrastructure means money and this means government support to address the gaps in technology and environmental performance. As might be expected, the European Commission’s perspective is built upon how to share the benefits across the widest possible group of stakeholders.

Kopczynska said that regulators “will need to strike a balance between offering opportunity for front runners to move ahead and to enable the second wave of adopters to catch up, so that they can take advantage of the opportunity” even if they lack the same access to capital.

When it comes to who assesses the development of a safety regime and quantifies risks, the IMO is the logical choice but the leading thinkers are urging that oversight is not left to the inventors. Co-operation between governments, regulators, classification and technology providers is the only way to go.

The OEMs also believe that it will be increasingly difficult to deliver autonomy without regulation, but that testbeds and platforms are needed in order to gather the experience needed to write them.
This in turn creates the risk of dominance for two or three major technology players and in turn buyer lock-in and a lack of choice. Not so, say the providers; to be a success, autonomy needs partners and especially SMEs for new technologies and the effect will be a consortium not a monopoly.

There is also a realisation that the slick marketing depicting large ocean going autonomous vessels was a little ahead of what is deliverable – more likely smaller coastal and short sea ships will make the move to electrification, automation and ultimately autonomy, much faster than ocean-going ships.

That could mean that the first autonomous vessels are seen on European waterways, as this sector combines a need to reduce local emissions with an ageing workforce and a challenge to recruit the next generation.

Attracting funding, by contrast, is relatively simple – at least in developed economies – what Kopczynska wants to see is “a bridge between autonomy pilots and projects at scale that the industry can adopt. There is a need to let the front runners run while also allow the broader benefits to be shared so that they can be brought back to transform the entire industry”.

How quickly the funds are released to enable the kind of pilots required to develop autonomy depends on local conditions and the pace of development by country. In Norway for example, as investment in oil and gas begins to decline, the opportunities for piloting programs could grow; other regions may not be so lucky.

But as public opinion continues to shift towards to achieving sustainability goals there is a realisation that a change is needed in mentality both inside and outside the industry. The movement of thousands of containers between Asia and Europe might be highly efficient but the system is subject to stress at the beginning and end of that voyage.

Kopczynska pondered the impact of digitalisation in the context of the container shipping revolution, but thinks it will be bigger, “because autonomous shipping could affect the entire industry, though it would not happen without the large scale ‘digitalisation of everything’ in the industry”.

“Making vessels more integrated into the wider transport chain is the real revolution,” she suggested. “Once the impacts of this are known, then it might be possible to describe a completely digitalized ‘transport system’.”

Her remarks – made at the SINTEF International Ship Autonomy And Sustainability Summit held in Oslo in June, suggest that the journey to autonomy is going to take more sharing than some entrepreneurs might once have imagined. But the evolution of thinking on this topic suggests that the OEMs, owners and innovators increasingly see it that way themselves.

Though there are projects designed to deliver full autonomy underway wider adoption depends more on a viable business case than the technology itself. And the kind of automation that will improve sustainability may not mean completely replacing crew but instead focussing on those in the most dangerous roles.

The industry’s problem with automation could be that it looks like a one-way bet, requiring complete commitment, which is overstating the extent to which a smart digital future will be a progressive collaborative rather than the fully competitive model we are used to.

Just as no one energy source is likely to power the fleet in future, there is no single way to autonomy. That is where its challenge lies.